Rescue Canada provides a variety of services and courses with reciprocal standards per course activity.

Select courses offered by Rescue Canada training curricula meets, complies and may exceed standards from the following organizations:

  1. IRIA means International Rescue Instructors Association
  2. ANSI means American National Standards Institute
  3. USCG means United States Coast Guard
  4. CCG means Canadian Coast Guard
  5. FEMA means Federal Emergency Management Agency
  6. NFPA means National Fire Protection Association
  7. NASBLA means National Association of State Boating Law Administrators
  8. ASTM means International formerly known as American Society for Testing and Materials
  9. OSHA means Occupational Safety and Health Administration
  10. ISO means International Organization for Standardization
  11. SOLAS means International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea
  12. IACET means International Accreditors for Continuing Education and Training
  13. CSA means Canada Safety Association Standard for Safety
  14. WorkSafe Canada
  15. CCOHS-Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety

Product Organizations

  1. UNDERWRITERS means UL Laboratories is a nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing the UL mission through the discovery and application of scientific knowledge.
  1. CE means the CE marking is the manufacturer’s declaration that the product meets EU standards for health, safety, and environmental protection

Company Standards Reference

Our company standards reference is for both employees, instructors and in-house instructorship programs.

  1. Approved-Means Sanctioned, endorsed, accredited, certified, or accepted as satisfactory by a duly constituted and nationally recognized authority or agency such as the International Rescue Instructors Association
  2. Authorized person-means a person approved or assigned by the employer to perform a specific type of duty or duties or to be at a specific location or locations at the jobsite
  3. Competent person-means one who is capable of identifying existing and predictable hazards in the surroundings or working conditions which are unsanitary, hazardous, or dangerous to employees, and who has authorization to take prompt corrective measures to eliminate them.
  4. Qualified-means one who, by possession of a recognized degree, certificate, or professional standing, or who by extensive knowledge, training, and experience, has successfully demonstrated his ability to solve or resolve problems relating to the subject matter, the work, or the project.
  5. Shall-means mandatory
  6. Assessment– Means Student Candidate (and instructor) assessment and program evaluations for conformity and compliance to the program standards

Reference: OHSA-CCOHS


As per ISO 31000, risk is “The effect of uncertainty on objectives” whereas risk management is “coordinated activities to direct and control and organization with regard to risk”. It again elaborates risk management framework as a “set of components that provide the foundations and organizational arrangements for designing, implementing, monitoring, reviewing and continually improving risk management processes throughout the organization”.

According to ISO 31000, risk management process is a “systematic application of management policies, procedures and practices to the tasks of communication, consultation, establishing the context, identifying, analyzing, evaluating, treating, monitoring and reviewing risk”.

ISO 31000 consists of 11 key principles which view risk management as an elementary process of generating success of the organization. These eleven principles can be regarded as the “essential qualities” required for risk management.

  1. Principle 1: Risk management creates and protects value
  2. Principle 2: Risk management is an integral part of the organizational procedure
  3. Principle 3: Risk management is part of decision making
  4. Principle 4: Risk management explicitly addresses uncertainty
  5. Principle 5: Risk management is systematic, structured and timely
  6. Principle 6: Risk management is based on the best available information
  7. Principle 7: Risk management is tailored
  8. Principle 8: Risk management takes human and cultural factors into account
  9. Principle 9: Risk management is transparent and inclusive
  10. Principle 10: Risk management is dynamic, iterative and responsive to change
  11. Principle 11: Risk management facilitates continual improvement and enhancement of the organization

ISO 31000 and Enhanced Risk Management

ISO 31000 acknowledges the importance of incessant improvement of risk management strategies. As per ISO 31000, the five features of enhanced risk management are:

  1. Continual improvement
  2. Full accountability for risks
  3. Application of risk management in all decision making
  4. Continual communications
  5. Full integration in the organization’s governance structure

Posted:  April 25, 2021

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Linkdin
Share on Pinterest